Return to Headlines

Smithfield-Selma High Hall of Fame Banquet Set for December 7 th

Smithfield-Selma High School will hold its second annual Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, December 7 at 6 p.m. 

The special event will be held in the cafeteria and coincides with the school’s 50th anniversary celebration.

The Smithfield-Selma High community will celebrate the contributions of the alumni by inducting them into the school’s Hall of Fame. Inductees must have graduated in 2009 or earlier, and were nominated for diverse accomplishments including club leadership, athletics, community service, volunteer activities, and other endeavors. 

The 2019 inductees and their year of graduation are: Tamara Barbour (1990), Rick Childrey (1973), Marlon Lee (1992), Dr. Craig Pearce (1970), Bruce Radford (1973), and Dr. Renee Sanders-Lawson (1978).

The Sparta Heart Award, which recognizes the dedication of school stakeholders to the continued success of SSHS, will also be awarded at the banquet. The recipients of the Sparta Heart Award are Jack Temple as well as Wingate and Susan Lassiter. 

After the banquet's main course, Smithfield-Selma High students specializing in the school's culinary arts program will serve dessert. Tickets for the banquet are $20. Nominees receive complimentary tickets for themselves and three guests.

For additional questions and to purchase tickets please contact Deanna Morris at 

Daniel Barrett and Caitlin Furr