Return to Headlines

Semifinalists for 2021 Flame for Learning Award announced

The Triangle East Chamber of Commerce announced the 20 semifinalists for the Flame for Learning Award on March, 30.

Because of the importance of teachers in developing and educating children, the Triangle East Chamber of Commerce adopted the Flame For Learning Award. Their goal is to support and elevate the teaching profession in the public schools. This award recognizes outstanding creativity and innovation in the classroom and nominees are selected strictly on merit, without regard to school or residence.

The 2021 Flame for Learning semifinalists represent 14 schools, showcasing great educators from all over Johnston County.

The 20 semifinalists are:

Carolyn Benner, Cleveland Middle
Heather Best, River Dell Elementary
Amanda Dauphinais, Innovation Academy at South Campus
Amanda Everette, Four Oaks Middle
Crystal Hardison, Clayton High
Catherine Hoyt, South Smithfield Elementary
Elisabeth Jones, Selma Elementary
Bethany Jones, Smithfield-Selma High
Kimberlie Jones, Riverwood Elementary
Brian Jones, Smithfield-Selma High
Kimberly Jorett, Clayton Middle
Rachel Langdon, Clayton High
LaChandle Nowling, West Clayton Elementary
Allie Parrish, South Smithfield Elementary
Janna Rogerson, Princeton Elementary
Deborah Roll, Clayton Middle
Madison Simerson, Four Oaks Elementary
Shannon Smithies, Selma Elementary
Mary Beth Thompson, Four Oaks Middle
Jennifer Vogel, Riverwood Middle

The Flame for Learning Award is presented by Chick-fil-A of Smithfield. Through a nomination process, teachers in Johnston County were invited to submit a "best idea or practice" used by that teacher. The winner of the Flame for Learning award will represent Johnston County in the regional competition.

Johnston County's Teacher of the Year will be named at the 27th Annual Triangle East Flame for Learning Award Ceremony on May 6th, 2021.

Flame for Learning