Return to Headlines

JCPS names 2019 Adult Volunteer of the Year

Sarah Poling of McGee’s Crossroads Elementary School was named the 2019 Johnston County Public Schools Adult Volunteer of the Year at the annual PTA/PTO Council Meeting Banquet, held at Smithfield-Selma High School.

Poling has been known as a student cheerleader and a child advocate for several years at McGee’s Crossroads Elementary.

She has worked with the PTA for three years and helps organize events such as Breakfast with Santa, Boosterthon, Daddy Daughter Dance, Mother Son Event, and quarterly meals that are served to staff.

The first runner-up for the Volunteer of the Year Award was Cindy Cole from River Dell Elementary. The second runner-up for the award was Angela Clinard from West Clayton Elementary. Billy Lassiter from Smithfield-Selma High and Edward Olive from South Johnston High tied for third runner-up for the award.

Adult and youth volunteer of the year candidates who were recognized at the banquet are:




Archer Lodge Middle

Cassandra Neal

Preston Styons

Benson Elementary

Marina Mendoza

Tyrone Crothamel

Benson Middle

Melissa Allen

Jason Hines

Clayton High

Terry Kallam

Kasey Wilkins

Clayton Middle

Jennifer Dusenburg

Madison Valadez-Montenegro

Cleveland Elementary

Laura Barefoot

Corbett Hiatt

Cleveland High

Laura Lee

Noah Autry

Cleveland Middle

Susan White

Ryan Joseph Klimp

Cooper Academy

Dee Farmer

Mark Williams

Corinth Holders High

Alison Boswell

Isabelle Pettit

Corinth-Holders Elementary

Melissa Waring

Edwards Evans

Dixon Road Elementary

Dana Dillon

Amelia Anderson

East Clayton Elementary

Nina McLauren

Anaya Smith

Four Oaks Elementary

Casey Johnson

Evey Ruth Parker

Four Oaks Middle

Dennis Durham

Joshua Eason

Glendale-Kenly Elementary

Emily Lawhorn

Maritza Diaz Coyt

Innovation Academy

Charles Brewer

Sarah Beth Williamson

JC Career & Tech Leadership

Patrick & Kay Morgan

Princess Kate Brown

JC Early College Academy

Steve Prince

De’Ante Taylor

McGee’s Crossroads Elementary

Sarah Poling

Sadie Sharp

McGee’s Middle

Richard Rozman

Matthew Engelmohr

Meadow School

Courtney Barefoot

Jordyn Brown

Micro Elementary

Penny Metcalf

Athziri Arteaza Gonzalez

North Johnston High

Teresa Richardson

Andrew Bruton

North Johnston Middle

Lisa Holland

Joshua Meacomes

Pine Level Elementary

Debbie Sanders

Emily Holland

Polenta Elementary

Jenny Cavallaro

Gavin Bledsoe

Powhatan Elementary

Mary Beck

Evan Gaiter

Princeton Elementary

Sharon Batkoski

Morgan Gaster

Princeton Middle/High

Robert Boyatt

Haylie Heller

River Dell Elementary

Cindy Cole

Lola Hansley

Riverwood Elementary

Rachel Kennedy

Delaney Morgan

Riverwood Middle

Jill Evans

Henley Bess Daily

Selma Elementary

Katherine Batten Parrish

Christian McFarland

Selma Middle

Mary Betts

Jesus Caldera Ortiz

Smithfield Middle

Janet Costa

Aniya Williams

Smithfield-Selma High

Billy Lassiter

Brittany Stanley

South Johnston High

Edward Olive

Margaret Gabrielle Godwin

South Smithfield Elementary

Aly Carey

Rafael Fuentes-Reyes

Swift Creek Middle

Michelle McCombs

Jarrell Bethea

West Clayton Elementary

Angela Clinard

Jake Robertson

West Johnston High

Dallas Bowden

Jenny Huynh

West Smithfield Elementary

Lisa Bombardier

Diana Herrera-Hernandez

West View Elementary

Meagen Phillips

Lauren Oeltjenbruns

Wilson’s Mills Elementary

Shannon Macedo

Alex Torres Diaz