Return to Headlines

Flame For Learning semifinalists announced

The Triangle East Chamber of Commerce and Johnston County Public Schools announced the 2023 Flame For Learning Semifinalists. A Prize Patrol team equipped with balloons and music went to each semifinalists' school to surprise them and inform them of their nomination. 

The nominees will be honored with an event at the Barn at Broadslab on April 25, where the winner will be announced. Click here for more event details.  

Congratulations to all of the semifinalists for their dedication and hard work!

2023 Flame For Learning Semifinalists:

Jennifer Johnson (Swift Creek Middle), Nick Rotenberry (Polenta Elementary), Brandy Williams (Selma Elementary), Dorothy Holley (West Johnston High), Brooke Daughtry (North Johnston High), Talitha Crawford (West Smithfield Elementary), Amy Wellbrook (Riverwood Middle), Jennifer Medlin (Riverwood Elementary), Kathryn Moore (East Clayton Elementary), Natalie Torres-Urzua (Cooper Elementary), Melissa Pearce (Cleveland High), Courtney Renfrow (Cleveland Elementary), Kimberly Drown (West Johnston High), Diana Peñuela (South Smithfield Elementary), Shearon Miller (Cleveland High), Colleen Bonner (West Johnston High), Wesley Bradford (West Johnston High), Lynda Martin (Thanksgiving Elementary), Erin McGowen (Four Oaks Elementary), and Cheryl Brown (River Dell Elementary).