• Johnston County Early College Academy is a collaboration of Johnston County Schools and Johnston Community College. Opening in August 2008, JCECA is located on the campus of Johnston Community College. Funded by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, JCECA is a five-year school where graduates will receive a high school diploma and a two year Associates Degree in College Transfer from Johnston Community College.

    Johnston County Early College Academy represents a unique combination of public school and community college collaboration.  It is a high school of choice where students are expected to take college classes in addition to high school core courses.  Students are expected to continue their education at a four -year college upon graduation.  Early College Academy will follow its own designated academic calendar, not the traditional Johnston County Schools' school calendar.

    Johnston County Early College operates on the principles of rigor, relevance, and relationships.  The smaller class size enables teachers to devote more time to students.  A caring and capable school staff contributes to the success formula.  The small size of the school, the later start to the school day, and the location on Johnston Community College campus are all components in student success.

    Students eligible to apply for Early College admissions will successfully complete their eighth grade year, will be registering for ninth grade at a Johnston County high school and will reside within the Johnston County Schools attendance area.  This non-traditional school is specifically for students who have the ability to be high achievers, are capable of doing honors work, and can meet high academic standards.  Special consideration is given to first generation college students and underserved students.  Johnston County Early College students have ambition and ability and want a setting and experience different from the typical high school.  Students must make a commitment to academic excellence.  Entrance to the school is by application only.  Each spring applications are accepted, and fifty qualified candidates are admitted.